Site Hits : 10562510


The Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY) Guidelines (2016-2020) defines Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) Guidelines as under:

Individuals with prior learning experience or skills shall be assessed and certified under the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) component of the Scheme. RPL aims to align the competencies of the unregulated workforce of the country to the NSQF. Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs), such as Sector Skill Councils (SSCs) or any other agencies designated by MSDE/NSDC, shall be incentivized to implement RPL projects in any of the three Project Types (RPL Camps, RPL at Employer’s Premises and RPL centers). To address knowledge gaps, PIAs may offer Bridge Courses to RPL candidates.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is the process of recognizing previous learning, often experiential, towards gaining a qualification. RPL majorly, not mandatorily, focuses on the individuals engaged in unorganized jobs like Construction Workers/Laborers, Agricultural Labour, Plumbing, Street Vendors/Hawkers/ and small shops/establishments etc.

Objectives of RPL: 
  • To align the competencies of the un-regulated workforce of the country to the standardized National Skills Qualification Framework (NSQF)
  • To enhance the career/employability opportunities of an individual as well as provide alternative routes to advance skill training.
  • To provide opportunities for reducing inequalities based on privileging certain forms of knowledge over others. 
BSDM- RPL with Bridge Course:

In order to establish Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and to further substantiate the acquire knowledge, BSDM has decided that merely a certificate is not the need of hour and it should be accompanied with brief holistic knowledge refresher. Thus it was decided that under BSDM “RPL with Bridge Course” will be implemented in the State of Bihar and not just a mere RPL.

RPL shall be undertaken by Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs) through any of the three project types (RPL Camps, RPL at Employer’s Premises and RPL centers) specified under this document.

PIAs shall include agencies designated and selected by BSDM under this RFP. Assessment Agencies (AAs) are not permitted to be PIAs under RPL.

Join the course of your choice

View Courses